Creativity 100

Apologies for being absent all this time. Things have been rather hectic lately and I haven’t had the time I would’ve liked to do things like update this (or my other) blog as much as I’d like.


I had this bookmarked a while ago, but never thought to post this here until just now when I went to retrieve the link from del.icio.us (I suddenly forgot why I was looking for it to begin with).

Henriette Weber Andersen has compiled an excellent practical creativity manifesto that can “create some twisting and turning in your minds.” I love it.

One of my favourite from the list is a creative exercise:

78: draw 20 circles. Try to make each one into something in under 7 minutes (ie: pie, bicycle wheel, sewer grate, etc). repeat daily.

when I first tried this (I was really out of practice at the time), the first few were easy, but it became more difficult once I passed the twelfth. Then I realized, I didn’t have to constrain myself to only things shaped like a circle; I could build around the circle, too: after that I came up with several other concepts, each one more fun to draw than the last (a few examples of what I cam up with: a snowman, a lollipop, top-down view of a coffee cup, a camera with a big-honking macro lens (I wish I had one of those <drool>), a pair of stereo speakers (I sort of cheated a bit an counted that as two circles, one for each side, but don’t tell anyone—shh!), …you get the idea).

Maybe one of these days I’ll have to do up one of these…

(via michele)

5 Comments »

  1. Hi there – I am glad you could use my list for something – it took me a while to compile it – but I am happy I did =)

    I love to see a great creativity blog =) added to my RSS feeds instantly…

  2. Gabriel Said:

    Wow, that was quick! I haven’t been posting as much here (or there) that much lately, but now that I know more people are reading, I’ll be sure to post on a more regular schedule. Also, I just realized my About page link was disabled on this theme (which I’ve had set for about a year and didn’t even notice until now—d’oh!), so I’ve promptly re-added it. See you ’round 😉

  3. michele Said:

    hey gabriel – i’m glad you thought they were good. the circle one was especially fun, and i’ve done the same thing with drawing outside the sircle, etc. my double ended up being an old school cassette tape. the person who i learned it from suggested trying it every day… gah!
    hope you’re well. 🙂

  4. […] tag cloud, and the most mentioned tag is ‘inspiration’. Looking down the list of posts, the one that struck me most was a link to a post by another blogger, Henriette Weber, who listed 100 things about […]

  5. I think creativity may be my highest value. I suppose it’s the essence of life.

    Thanks for supporting our essence!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

